T: The Beast

Last week on the radio I was listening to this woman who was talking about her book. I can’t recall the book’s name but it was about gender roles of young women and men, especially at school. There was this indication that within society it was expected of men to behave as they did, to pursue women. That peer pressure could push some men into being agressive and dominant. Perhaps that’s partially true, but no genetic woman or man could ever truly understand the real reason.

In my unique position, from both the perspective of someone who never really had that much pressure to be in a “manly” role, especially not a dominant one, as well as of someone who went from full testosterone levels to none in a week flat, I can tell you that the main reason for men wanting to dominate and fuck woman is mostly biological. It’s The Beast: Testosterone. 

T is a monster, deep within men, that is so powerful it can overpower the smartest of them. When I started taking my hormones (I mention it in my Hormones and Roommates post), I felt a liberation, a complete freedom from the pressure that came deep within me. For the first time in my life, I could look at other women, however attractive they were, and not feel the horrifying need to want to throw them in a bed and fuck them. You may think I’m exagerating, but I think one of the reasons our society has not remained a male-driven primal anarchy is probably because men have the ability within them to contain this beast. Most men, that is.

Of course, this isn’t to say that Estrogen isn’t a powerful hormone and that I’m now devoid of any desires – far from it. Most MtF transsexuals will tell you that hormones have changed the way the feel desire, and I’ll do the same. From this beast of a pressure that pushed me towards wanting other women, came a deep desire to be wanted – the obvious and natural oposite, which I guess explains a lot. It’s probably a sign of evolution, a sign that male and female are really oposites sometimes. No wonder we barely understand each other.

Doing the switch was an eye-opener, and it gave me a perspective that I never expected as a side-effect of my transition. So, my readers and friends, what do you think about all this? Do you have an opinion on the subject?

Leave a Reply

